Spelt & Eggless Pancake

Free of Egg / Dairy / Sugar / Vegan & Vegetarian Friendly

Spelt flour is used
Sweetener: Agave syrup

Ain’t no sunshine when she’s gone” by Bill Withers. I’m humming that in my head for the last hour as I sit having breakfast watching the silent but persistent rain falling on the green grass and autumnal leaves of my shrubs in my Co Dublin suburban garden.

By lunchtime though if I haven’t changed the tune I’ll go bonkers. Better not do that either seeing as I’ll be at a meeting, wouldn’t look good now, eh?

We’re truly into the autumnal sphere, aren’t we? The central heating is on every night again this week. I was taking great pleasure in not having to do so up until now, felt like I was beating the system somehow. I’ve been rushed off my feet lately, hopefully it’ll all lead to benefits in the end.  With this cold sticky wet morning I wanted a treat. To me, this morning, that’s just a bit of white spelt flour. Whether it’s toast, pancakes, cake, this morning I wanted pampering, the cheapest option was to have some pancakes.

I seem to be rambling this morning but I’ve a lot of balls in the air, figuratively speaking, and they’ll either fall into a welcome pile of success or crash down in a heap of messed up despair. I always hate the suspense in waiting for the outcome of decisions I’m making but sure it’s all part of the process. Hopefully will be able to talk about what I’ve been up to soon. Though if the balls all crash into a mass of despair then I’ll just move on. I’ve just realised it’s very difficult to talk about something and not talk about it at the same time.

Anyway the reason you’re here. This is a quick and easy no fuss pancake

VEGAN SPELT & EGGLESS PANCAKE:

Makes: 8

200g white spelt flour
1 teaspoon gluten free baking powder
30g golden linseed
200ml organic rice milk
2 tablsp grapeseed oil
4-5 tablespoons agave syrup

INSTRUCTIONS:

Whisk all the ingredients in a medium bowl to a smooth consistency.
Melt a knob of vegan butter* on the pan on a low to medium heat.
Pour 2 large spoonfuls on the pan per each pancake. I fit two at a time.
When cooked on the bottom flip over to cook the other side.
Repeat the process until all the pancakes are cooked.
Serving suggestion: Serve with your choice of toppings, e.g. maple syrup drizzle and chocolate sauce or as in this case with a Berry & Kale Smoothie

Do you use white or wholegrain flour for your pancakes? What’s your favourite topping?

Will follow up with the smoothie tomorrow just must dash.

Chat soon, Marian

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Dairy-Free, Egg Free, Uncategorized

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegan, Soy-Free, Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Pancakes « Best Products, Best Recipes, Best Approved - October 25, 2012

    […] Spelt & Eggless Pancake (speltforchoice.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Simple Banana Pancakes « WestDeltaGirl's Blog - December 10, 2012

    […] Spelt & Eggless Pancake (speltforchoice.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

