Banana & Cherry Iced Smoothie (or Breakfast ‘Ice Cream’)

Banana Cherry Smoothie (Vegan & Wheat-free)

Free from: Dairy, Wheat, Egg, Soya
Sweetener: any sweetness comes from the fruit

Lately I’ve been freezing banana slices so I can make a dairy-free version of this Frozen Banana Peanut Butter Choc Chip Milkshake. The only problem is I’m on a cherry craze at the moment. Well I’ve been looking at them all summer and except for the odd packet here and there they are generally too expensive here in Ireland to buy as much as I’d crave. Since my local shop is selling them at half price I’m gobbling up as many as I can, a kinda “strike while the iron is hot” approach.

So once again this morning I veered from the choc treat and went for the cherries. The sun was shining and after my little stint pruning my herbs I convinced myself I deserved a breakfast treat. Low and behold Banana & Cherry Smoothie to the rescue.

I do want to call it ice cream but it’s a bit softer than I generally like ice cream. Yet it’s velvety smooth texture reminds of ice cream’s lusciousness every time I smother off a spoonful of it. Also on a sunny morning like today I wanted something fresh and cooling.

Banana & Cherry Smoothie

(print this recipe)

Ingredients:

100ml organic soya milk
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
205g frozen banana slices
10 cherries (with stones removed)

How to:

Combine the milk and lemon juice in a jug and leave for 5 minutes (it turns into a buttermilk texture).

Add to a food processor with the banana pieces and cherries and pulse until  smooth.

Also remember to have thin slices of bananas and make sure they kept apart so you don’t have a huge chunk of ice or it could damage your processor (voice of experience here).

Serve immediately as melts very quickly.

I’ve made this a few times and have halved the banana measure, depends on what I have in the freezer, and still delicious though a less stiff texture. There isn’t any added sweetener in this smoothie but if you have a wicked sweet tooth you may need to add some agave or maple syrup or xylitol.

Next time I’ll try some raspberries or strawberries or just do up the chocolate peanut one above. Would you try this indulgent smoothie or are you more of a green smoothie drinker, or sneak in the slice or two of white spelt toast? Love to hear.

Cakes:

I’m adding more spelt recipes soon, had to figure out how to make good looking and scrumptious egg-free cakes. More on that soon. If eggs aren’t a problem for you then you can check out some of my dairy-free and spelt cakes, pancakes and scones in my book Dairy Free & Spelt Living (most of them are sweetened with agave, maple or rice syrups too).

So unless I hear from you in the meantime have fun til next time…

Marian

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Breakfasts, Dairy-Free, Gluten Free, Smoothies, Uncategorized, Vegan, Vegetarian

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

