Lily’s Tea Shop: Product Review

Lilys Tea Shop

Lily’s Tea Shop came onto my radar earlier this summer. As I enjoy my cup of tea, especially herbal teas I knew I had to give it a taste test, just for you of course.

Lily’s Tea Shop  whole leaf tea comes in a range of flavours, of which I got to taste samples of their White Tea with Ginger & Lemon and Cinnamint.

Here are my thoughts on the two I tried.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Cloud Nine White” White Tea with Lemon & Ginger
Ingredients: White tea leaves, lemon peel and ginger root with trace amounts of caffeine.

This was my clear favourite mainly as I drink so much homemade green tea, ginger and lemon. I was really pleased with this variety. It saves time with the chopping of ginger and slicing of lemons when I make my own, so much quicker.

It’s ight, refreshing & perfectly balanced, ideal for the early morning cuppa, but anytime you feel the need for a light lift.

From 1 teabag I made a pot of tea and got 5 cups of highly flavourful tea, the 6th was a bit weak. Not bad for one little teabag, now is it?

CinnaMint Tea

Ingredients: White peppermint leaves and cinnamon bark.

Normally I tend to steer clear of spiced teas of any sort as they tend to be overpowering.  The predominant flavour here comes from the peppermint leaves with a subtle hint of spice from the cinnamon bark. From my first sip I was enveloped with a warming Christmas feeling. I’m delighted with this as I’ve found a balanced mint tea for any time of the year coupled with my new favourite Christmas tea. For you chai tea lovers out there this tea will be a bit light in spicy flavour for you but if you’re a mint tea drinker than jump at it.

Overall Thoughts

I really enjoyed both of them, though obviously the first one being my favourite more for convenience reasons. So if you like herbal teas go on treat yourself.

By the way all the teas in the range are “detoxifying & naturally high in anti-oxidants” whole leaf teas. Each teabag is a cute pyramid style which is sealed in a foil packet for freshness. Each gift-like presentation box of tea contains 15 pyramid  bags. You can order from them directly online another plus with Lily’s Tea Shop whole leaf teas.

A little bit of background on Lily’s Tea Shop

Based in Termonfeckin, County louth, Ireland and owned by Lily and Dominick. They source only the finest tea leaves  which are grown in an eco-friendly environment in China. They frequently visit the China farms to check on production and are proud to source their teas from farmers who are fairly treated and provided with the opportunity for sustainable growth.

Word of Thanks:

A huge hanks to the Irish Food Bloggers Association (IFBA) alerting us that Lily’s Tea Shop were looking for reviewers. I got to taste delicious teas that have been around for a while and pitifully missing from my local speciality stores. I looking forward to ordering my little stock of these teas very soon.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Dairy-Free, Uncategorized

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 38: White Tea has Cardiovascular Benefits « Hot Tea, Girl Talk - October 20, 2012

    […] Lily’s Tea Shop: Product Review (speltforchoice.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

