Mild Mannered or Hot & Spicy Butterbean & Garlic Hummus – Which would you choose?

A very basic hummus turned into a couple of hours testing different flavours. Wouldn’t mind but had a few other recipes I wanted to test but they got pushed to the side today. Ah just as well the afternoon is free – should be lots of fun. My fingertips are yellow as would befit any heavy smoker so as you can imagine I don’t wear my ground turmeric stains with pride.

The recipe all began with a visit last May to a ‘soon-to-be qualified’ nutritionist. She had suggested trying butterbeans with some cayenne pepper, salt & pepper, garlic and oil. Each time I looked at my nutrition plan sheet the hummus kept staring up at me begging me to make it. However, seeing as I had my Butterbean & Red Onion Hummus I wasn’t all that eager for a change. At long last it’s done, the only trouble is that I got all creative and just kept trying flavours. Here’s two and will show the rest another day.

The first Butterbean & Garlic Hummus is mild mannered and the second has more of a kick in it.

With all the tasting I got my lunch ate from 11.00 to 12.00 but as no doubt you know hummus is ideal with some vegetable crudities, toasted bread pieces or corn gluten free tortilla crisps. Especially useful when friends drop over as you can make them early in the day or the day before.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Butterbean & Garlic Hummus (mild-mannered)

Ingredients:

115g (1/2)tin butterbeans, rinsed and drained
2 large minced garlic cloves
A pinch of cayenne pepper
freshly ground sea salt & black pepper
3 tablespoons oil (I used Derrycamma Farm rapeseed oil)

How to:
Liquidise all the ingredients in a mini-food processor until smooth.
Check the seasoning and adjust to your taste then store in an air-tight glass jar in the fridge.

Butterbean & Garlic Hummus (hot & spicy kick!)

Ingredients:

115g (1/2)tin butterbeans, rinsed and drained
2 large minced garlic cloves
1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon aminos (though you could use tamari)
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground coriander
1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
Freshly ground sea salt & black pepper
4 tablespoons oil (I used Derrycamma Farm rapeseed oil)

How to:
Liquidise all the ingredients in a mini-food processor until smooth.
Check seasoning and adjust to your taste then store in an air-tight glass jar in the fridge.

Oh I feel like a cake or tray of biscuits coming on? Better get cracking as have a few reviews and other recipes to get up.   It’s nearly 4.00pm, time for a hummus snack methinks? (Well there are the leftover goodies from the the photos, can’t go letting them go to waste now can I?).

Have you favourite ingredients you like in hummus? Would you like to see a cake or biscuit coming up on the recipes?

Be back soon.

Marian

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Dairy-Free, Dressings & Sauces, Gluten Free, Vegan, Wheat-Free

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

