Red Cherry & Berry Vegan Smoothie

Vegan / Vegetarian / Free from: Dairy, Gluten,  Wheat, Egg & Soya

Sweetened With: medjool dates

Serves: Indulgently One

Been so busy lately with the main job being organising my hubby’s belated milestone birthday present. His milestone birthday was last August but with the family illnesses and bereavements for the last while his celebrations had to be put on hold. I’ve also been working on a new product which I’m keeping hush hush at the moment but it’s going well so soon I hope to be able to let you in on the news.

Anyway it’s recipe time. This one I made up this morning just to use up fresh blueberries and blackberries I got on special offer the other day. Better than letting them go to waste now isn’t? I ended up just firing in different ingredients until I liked the taste. So as you see very scientific as always.

This smoothie was a bit runnier than I’d have liked but by the time I’d finished taking my pics it had thickened up nicely. You obviously can start with less milk (try 100ml) and then add in more to get the consistency you’d prefer.

An unusual taste, sort of earthy that grew on me the more I ate it. If you try it I hope you agree. Look I got some Irish sunshine in my photo, so we do get sunshine in this rainy land, well I never I may just win the lotto jackpot so (better do the lotto).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Serves: 1 (I know pure indulgence)

Ingredients:

125g blueberries
125g blackberries
100g cherries (stones and stalks removed)
2 chopped medjool dates
1 tablespoon milled hemp seeds
100-150ml dairy free milk (I used almond milk)

Topping Suggestion:  1 tablespoon chopped hazelnuts, 1 tablespoon maca powder and a pinch of cinnamon (adjust to your liking though)

How To:

Place all the ingredients into a liquidiser and whizz up until smooth.

Top off with my topping suggestion above and enjoy.

I better go, have ordered himself to book his holidays on specific dates and if I don’t finalise his birthday present it’ll be soup in the garden instead. What happens then you may well ask, well the divorce papers will be coming down the chimney at me.

Happy Cooking and Eating until next time,

Marian


Tags: , ,

Categories: All Recipes, Dairy-Free, Egg Free, Gluten Free, Smoothies, Vegan, Vegetarian, Wheat-Free

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

