Apprentice Herb Garden: Take Two

A huge thanks to Greenside Up for alerting me to the GIY plant a herb initiative this month.

I’m only starting but thought this is as good a time as any to let you all know about my herb garden (one pot but it’s a start). I’m calling it my Apprentice Herb Garden until it grows up and can cope with all my herb needs.

Take One

It all started a while back with a sprig of rosemary from my sister (My Herb Garden Begins With Rosemary)  but the vicious magpies around here had other ideas. Despite my best efforts at the time they continually attacked it until it died (I really don’t like magpies after that).

Take Two: Apprentice Herb Garden

As the old saying goes, it’s not how many times you fall down but the number of times you get up, dust yourself off and start again that matter (ok so I’m paraphrasing a lot). So off I go again to try and succeed at this.

One of my main reasons is the reduction of the plastic packaging and resulting waste from packaged herbs. As you know once you opened the pack you have to be very careful to seal it properly or within a day they are withered.

During the week I grabbed some fresh basil leaves from my apprentice herb garden to top off a soup. I was so proud of it as it’s peppery aroma wafted all around me from the garden to my soup bowl.

Enjoy the photos and do if you’re interested check out the two sites above for lots of tips to help you on your journey.

Oh by the way the little windmills may help to keep the magpies away (well that’s what the garden shop hoped they do)

Are you thinking of starting? Oh and remember you can always check out my book (Dairy Free & Spelt Living) or this site for some recipes to try your herbs in!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Marian's Morsels, Uncategorized

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Apprentice Herb Garden: Take Two”

  1. June 14, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    Love the windmills!

    • June 14, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

      Hi Margaret, they surely are. Couldn’t resist them when the shop assistant pointed them out to me 🙂

  2. June 14, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    I should really start an apprentice garden. Thanks for the idea!

    • June 14, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

      Hi Patty, yep it’s a gpod way to view it and dip you toes in without too much of a commitment. It you like it then you can grow it from there. 🙂 Marian

  3. raphaele42
    June 18, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

    How lucky, this one has been on my list for ages but I was always lazy with doing my research and all. Thanks to you I have a good starting point. However, I have already killed several herb plants on my previous attempts, so i hope I will succeed this time 🙂

    • June 18, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

      Hi, I was the same so this small step into it is a great way to test it again. There is a great side in Ireland called Greenside Up. It’s worth checking out for tips on growing your own or there is a GIY Ireland site. If you’d prefer something more closer to home then check out similar in your area. Best of luck and sure let me know how you get on!

Leave a Reply

