Vegan Kickstart Day 20:Breakfast Tofu Scramble and Vanilla French Toast

Dairy-free / Gluten-free / Wheat-free/Vegan/Vegetarian

French Vanilla Toast Sweetened with Agave Syrup
Tofu Scramble unsweetened 

I used Clearspring Organic (Firm & Silken) Tofu in this recipe

Second last day of the Vegan Kickstart and on my menu for breakfast this morning were Tofu Scramble and the French Vanilla Toast.

I didn’t change the vanilla toast so if you’re interested in the recipe it’s on the Vegan Kickstart using the link above.

Tofu Scramble:

125g silken tofu
1 shallot, chopped finely (30g)
1 tablespoon chopped flat leaf parsley
1/8 teaspoon ground turmeric
salt & pepper to taste

How to:

  1. Place all the ingredients (except the salt and pepper) on a medium frying pan.
  2. Cook on a medium heat for about 5-6 minutes or until it all combines to resemble scrambled eggs.
  3. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste and mix through.
  4. Serve it on spelt toast (or whatever toast you can eat). This time I had it on top of the vanilla french toast
  5. Just scrumptious – Enjoy totally (if you make it of course)

Tip: It’s important to keep stirring the mixture on the pan otherwise it’ll stick and burn – then obviously breakfast is just ruined.

Pics are from my iPhone using istragram so not the usual, just fallen in love with instagram, will get over it.

I really enjoyed both which I wasn’t expecting. I’d given up scramble eggs so long ago that I no longer mind my husband tucking into his on a Saturday morning. Now I can join him with my vegan fare.

Have you ever tried these and or have you any variations on the above?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: All Recipes, Breakfasts, Dairy-Free, Egg Free, Uncategorized, Vegan, Vegetarian, Wheat-Free

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Vegan Kickstart Day 20:Breakfast Tofu Scramble and Vanilla French Toast”

  1. April 20, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    I saw your Vanilla French Toast pic on FB earlier today and thought yum! Tofu is something I just can’t seem to get a taste for – though I haven’t tried silken tofu – should i give it a try??

    • April 21, 2012 at 7:01 am #

      Hi Marie, I prefer using it and try to always pick the organic versions. It’s creamier so I believe it gives a far better texture to food. It does mean you as in the case of the scramble you have to spend longer getting it the right consistency but I don’t mind that when the outcome is so much tastier. I totally agree with you on other types of tofu, I veer away from them. In saying that I did taste tempeh in a dish a few months back and it was delicious.

Leave a Reply

