Vegan Kickstart: Curried Tomato Lentil Soup (Shorba Addis)

Day One of the Vegan Kickstart and my most favourite recipe of the day is the soup. Now given I have the few intolerances the pasta had to be changed to an organic gluten/wheat free pasta I like which is Doves Farn gluten and wheat free organic pasta.

You just have to try this warming and satisfying soup. It’s so quick and ooh so tasty. I had it along with the baked chickpeas and my own homemade tortilla crisps. Well worth a try, it’s definitely one of my favourites now.

The other changes were I used a few baby potatoes cut in half and had to use red lentils as had’t any green. Just to add a bit of green I added in a quarter cup of peas.

Curried Tomato Lentil Soup (Shorba Addis) via Vegan Kickstart (you have to scroll down the page to find the soup recipe).

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Didn’t try the Oatmeal Banana Bites yet as waiting for my banana to get a bit more ripe.

Onward to tomorrow’s recipe.

Marian


Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: All Recipes, Dairy-Free, Egg Free, Lunches, Uncategorized, Vegan, Vegetarian, Wheat-Free

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Vegan Kickstart: Curried Tomato Lentil Soup (Shorba Addis)”

  1. April 2, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    Yum..i love this Marian – I am really looking forward to learning more recipes from you.

    • April 2, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

      Hi Marie, tks:). I was really impressed with this soup, so easy and tasty. It also gets me using more lentils which are a great way of getting some protein in. I hopefully will have the banana oat bites tomorrow!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. $129 for Seven Days of Delivered Vegan or Gluten-Free Vegan Meals from Gobble Green ($250 Value) » Get your daily Groupon deals - April 3, 2012

    […] Vegan Kickstart: Curried Tomato Lentil Soup (Shorba Addis) […]

  2. Authentic Bangladeshi Red Lentils (Monsoor Dahl) Recipe « HoaiPhai - April 5, 2012

    […] Vegan Kickstart: Curried Tomato Lentil Soup (Shorba Addis) (speltforchoice.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

