Kitchen Reader Book Club Review: A Homemade Life

February 2012:A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes from My Kitchen Table by Molly Wizenberg

This is an amusing and easy read laid out in short story format. Molly Wizenberg has a wonderful knack throughout to bring you right into her past life. Her casual friendly style often made me feel like she was speaking to me as an old friend in a country pub reminiscing on all the joys, sadness and some of the secrets of her life.

Her memoir as I said is written as a collection of short stories and each culminates in a recipe.  it’s inclusion and what it represents  has been explained by the story leading up to it. I found this format a useful way to keep the interest going in such a slow paced book as she gently guided us through her her life story. For example in the “What France would taste like” – the recipe sums up France and why for her. Or the cookies and the meaning of them to her personal chronology. Or the heart warming marriage proposal by Brandon.

A great book to have in your bag to read on public transport, one to cheer you up, or useful if you need to read a few pages before going asleep.

It’s a feel-good book and definitely worth a read.

Oh by the way I didn’t manage to try any of the recipes, ended up not having the time They did sound delicious, especially some of the cakes.

Kitchen Reader Book Club:
New members are always warmly welcomed. If interested just send an email to: kitchenreader.blog@gmail.com

Kitchen Reader Book Club Review: A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg

Tags:

Categories: Marian's Morsels, Uncategorized

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

15 Comments on “Kitchen Reader Book Club Review: A Homemade Life”

  1. February 29, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    I hadn’t heard of this book before I read your review Marian, but it does sound really delightful.

    • February 29, 2012 at 10:49 am #

      Hi Marie, thanks. I hadn’t read a memoir before. If they are all like this then what a lovely relaxing way to spend an afternoon reading a few short stories. Marian

    • February 29, 2012 at 10:51 am #

      Oh Marie, forgot to mention they are always looking for new members the link is at the end of my blog post. It’s a worldwide thing and the details of the next month’s book is always available well ahead of time. So if you’re interested…

  2. March 1, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    I also thought this was a great book for reading on the bus. The chapters were so short that I could easily get through a couple each time I picked up the book. I don’t really warm to French cooking in general, but I thought the French homemade recipes sounded nice.

    • March 2, 2012 at 4:48 am #

      Hi Sarah, it’s ideal for the bus, no fear of getting caught up in the story and missing your stop! The French style of cooking is the main style around here. It makes it very difficult when trying to live with intolerances. Marian

  3. March 2, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    This was a fun read for me, too. I liked that the chapters were short (I’m slightly ADD). My question is: Do I file this book away with my “books,” or “cookbooks?”

    [K]

    • March 2, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

      Hi Kim,

      I’d say if you intend to cook some of the recipes then in file in your “cookbooks”. Otherwise under the “book”. Yep I’m really enjoying these books. Have you started on March’s one? I’m hooked from the start of it. Marian

  4. March 3, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    I completely agree about this being the perfect read for a public transit rider. That’s where I do all my best reading!

    • March 3, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

      Hi Anni,

      Yep it was a perfectly timed book for me last month as I seemed to be never off a public transit seat. Am looking forward to next month’s book, already reading it.

      • March 3, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

        Me too! I’m learning so many new things about my sense of smell… 🙂

  5. March 3, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    I also really enjoyed the format of this book and found that it made it a quick, fun read. I’ve made one recipe so far – the banana bread – and quite enjoyed it. I’m looking forward to making more!

    • March 5, 2012 at 9:24 am #

      Hi Katherine, your message was stuck in my spam so sorry for not seeing it sooner! Totally agree with you. I didn’t get a chance to make any of the recipes as I have a few food intolerances so would have to make tweaks to the recipes and time just wasn’t with me last month. The recipes do looks so scrumptious alright. Marian

  6. March 6, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    Hi Marian
    You need to make time to try the cakes!
    Molly has a knack for finding truly delicious desserts

    • March 6, 2012 at 9:47 am #

      Hi Jules, OK, I’ll have to have another look and pick a few! I’m dangerous around delicious desserts – I eat them all! Marian

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Homemade Life: February Round-Up | The Kitchen Reader - March 1, 2012

    […] Marian at From Marian’s Kitchen […]

Leave a Reply

