Wholesome & Soothing Cauliflower Sweet Potato & Pea Soup

Hi All, sorry for lack of posts for much of this week but got a very severe reaction to a medication I had to take on Monday. It fairly knocked the wind out of my sails until now. As the old saying goes “best laid plans…..”

I got four servings out of this. I  just kept eating it throughout the day, which means it only serves one if you’re recuperating (worth a try). I felt like a glutton but sure I haven’t really ate too much this week so I think I can get away with it, can’t I?

I noticed that the more you reheat it the shape of the cauliflower florets tends to break down and look more like pearl barley. Looked completely different in an appealing way and still so tasty which is all that matters.

Serves 4: 
Ingredients

400g cauliflower florets
300g sweet potatoes, chopped into chunks
1 medium white onion, sliced
1 litre homemade vegetable stock
1 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
Handful of fresh thyme (about 12g including stalks)
100g frozen peas
Pepper & salt at end to your taste

Getting it ready & Eating!:

Bring the cauliflower, sweet potato, onion, thyme, stock and pepper to boil in a large saucepan.

Simmer for 10- 15 minutes with the lid on the saucepan, just until vegetables is firm but a knife will go easily through the middle of the vegetables.

Add in the frozen peas, season with the salt and pepper and simmer again for 4 minutes.

Serve with fresh spelt bread.

Soothing & Tasty Cauliflower Sweet Potato & Pea Soup


Tags: , , ,

Categories: All Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegan, Vegetarian

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Wholesome & Soothing Cauliflower Sweet Potato & Pea Soup”

  1. Editor
    February 9, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    Nothing like soup to restore and revive – I tend to just make mine with whatever is to hand. This afternoon I decided to make broccoli soup and then I added sweet potato and red lentils – also like to use mustard seeds when sweating off the veg and add a dash of turmeric. Just had some now with fresh baked tomato and fennel bread – perfect for a grey old winter’s day

    • February 9, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

      I tell you Marie, it certainly did the trick today. Yep I use a lot of turmeric as well. I tend to make a lot of spicy meals with it though when I’m using it. The mustard seeds are great, especially if like me, shop bought mustard is a no-no. Did you see my href=”https://speltforchoice.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/mixed-peppers-carrot-courgette-stir-fry-wrapped-in-gf-tortilla-blankets/” title=”Mixed Pepper Carrot & Courgette Stir Fry Wrap”>. This uses them along with my usual standby spices now.

      You’re making me hungry again with your soup! I’m having a bit of difficulty with lentils at the minute and peas seeming to be far easier at minute. But as with intolerances there’s always a little bogey that pops in just to mess up your best laid plans.

Leave a Reply

