Busy Day Baking

One of main changes I’ve noticed since having to go dairy-free and spelt living is that I tend to cook even more at home. No choice as most places I try to eat out in make me ill. One of the typical lines is “oh yes there’s no dairy in that at all and we cook it in butter”!  as if in some way I must stand up and applaud them for the latter. I’m not saying anymore except this, it’s a worry when someone working in the food industry doesn’t know butter is dairy. Or the other good one with that is the chef has told them that there’s only a little bit of butter so won’t affect my diet. As if it’s not bad enough they insult my body shape. (OK I need to lose a bit but I don’t need a chef to point it out, now do I?). I’m sure you’ve come across similar, have you? In saying all that I have a little set of trusty haunts that I love.

Luckily I love cooking and especially coming up with new recipes.  I cheated a bit yesterday and did my old favourite, the white yeast spelt bread from my book (Dairy-free & Spelt Living). This was enjoyed with the Comforting & Spicy Squash and Sweet Potato soup from the blog here. Later on I snuck in one of The Vegan Project’s Quinoa & Chickpea burgers with a bit of potato mash and some broccoli. All this finished off with a slice of a vegan cake I’m working on. So all in all, it’s good to eat meatless, dairy free and wheat-less wonders (not that this needs saying but just as a reminder spelt flour does contain gluten so not recommended for coeliacs, you need to check with your medical support whether you can use it or not).

White Spelt Yeast Bread

Do you have a trusty bread that you make over and over again? I freeze mine and with large loaves I cut it into slices first, then I only take out what I need, do you do similar?

Ah the weekend is just here. Are you planning on baking, not sure myself? I notice with weekends lately they never fall into my plans anymore so I’ve decided to just run with it for the next while and wait til things calm down a bit.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized, Vegan, Vegetarian

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Busy Day Baking”

  1. February 3, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    I love baking..but em..baking doesn’t always love me. I do like the look of this bread Marian, and now that I am the proud owner of your book, I will have to give it a try for myself..though I have my doubts that it will turn out as gorgeous as this specimen!

  2. February 3, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    If you’re starting something new is both daunting and you have to just accept you could get it wrong. What’s the old saying, something like “a man who didn’t make any mistakes didn’t learn anything”. My first attempts at anything new are like most people can be a bin job but oh just when you get it to work. I suppose it’s one of the reasons I like creating recipes – you have the disasters and wonder why oh why and that it’s like you’ve won an award. Each time I make it looks different. If I put flout on or water instead of oil then the look is different. If I leave it in longer than is stated. Anyway your first attempt I’ll be there, so you can only succeed!

  3. February 4, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    I do want to try this bread. It looks lovely and my brown bread usually turns out okay 🙂

    Great blogging by the way – love the way your enthusiasm is coming across through your language, can tell you’re really enjoying it.

    • February 6, 2012 at 11:02 am #

      Hi Lorna, the lighting had a lot to do with it, I also tweeked the recipe as I’m doing up a few variations for a possible idea of mine. It was delicious though. Thanks for lovely comment, at long last I’ve time to concentrate it, long may that continue!

Leave a Reply

