Marian’s Morsels (1): Lemon Juice or Balsamic Vinegar Dressings

Lemon Drizzle:
I’ve have used a drizzle of lemon juice over salads for years.  It’s a fall-back to when I used to eat them when I was younger.  The citrus zing makes my eyes water and face scrunch up but I still enjoy them.  A bit like tart gooseberries before they get all soft and squidgy, which  I truly hate by the way.  Back to the  lemon juice though I find it really does spruce up a salad giving it a lovely vibrant zesty zing. A light drizzle is usually enough.


Balsamic Drizzle: 

A few years back a very helpful waitress gave me the balsamic tip. I was stuck yet again with a dry boring salad. None of the dressings on offer were suitable due to my intolerances.

When she suggested very lightly drizzling balsamic vinegar over the salad just to add flavour I remember Tony and I both looked at her in disbelief. She assured us it would work. It did and I’ve been interchanging it with the lemon juice ever since.

Uses:

Either of these are great with baked chipped spuds, chips and of course salads.

Last weekend I was at The Barn in Fellowsfield and the owner added lemon juice to oil as my dressing, it was delicious. I’d heard of it but you know I never felt the need to experiment. Which reminds me I must add ‘experiment with dressings’ to my list of To Dos.

Do you use either of these or have a better tip ? Are you experimenting with new recipes this year or will you stick to your old favourites?

Better head off I’ve a list of stuff to get done as long as my arm. Lots of fun and happiness to you all this week, let’s ensure it’s a successful one for us all!

Leave any comments below and I’ll get back for a chat as soon as I can.  

Marian

Categories: All Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegetarian

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

