Mixed Peppers Carrot & Courgette Stir Fry Wrap

Rule 1 with food blogging – if a dish works first time just post it.  I’ve made this 14 times.  I’ve used every vegetable known to man (well what’s available in my locality). It’s been turned into a curry, been made ‘creamier. There’s isn’t much I haven’t done or learnt with this one.  But boy oh boy has it delayed me.  All I wanted was a vegetable sir-fry to sate me when I couldn’t get to FXB’s in Monkstown whose wonderful chef Mark prepares a delicious stir-fry for me with most of the same vegetables.  I know their recipe but that’s theirs and it’s only fair if I do a blog that it’s my own recipe.

So at long last when I returned to my first attempt on Sunday (7 January 2012) my long sought after success was all mine.  In fairness some of the additions (like the mint and the lemon juice) from later versions spruced this up no end so all the efforts weren’t a lost cause.

Vegan Mixed Pepper Carrot & Courgette Stir-Fry
It is a great little recipe to have in the auld recipe toolbox.  You can add in chickpeas or green beans and serve up with your favourite rice (mine tends to be a fragrant spicy jaasmine or mixed rice). Or, as I’ve done in this post wrap it in GF tortillas and tuck in. I used My Mexican Shop’s non-GM gluten-free tortillas.

These vegan veg wraps were just yummy delicious, lip licking tasty.  Before wrapping the stir-fry up in the tortillas squeeze some lemon juice and sprinkle some chopped fresh mint leaves on top.  The lemon adds a zingyness and just dances on the tongue and the mint is refreshing.  The dairy-free yogurt brings a silken smoothiness, all in all packed with flavour. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Serves 3 (though, I served it with a carrot & butterbean soup aswell)

Ingredients:

2 teaspoons fennel seeds
2 teaspoons mustard seeds
1 teaspoon cardamom seeds
1/2-1 teaspoon salt
1 red onion, chopped finely (keep some aside for topping later)
2 tablespoon olive oil
200g carrots, chopped into thin strips
200g mixed peppers (a mix of yellow, orange and red), chopped into thin strips
1 cup light coconut milk (one used for tea and the like)
130g courgettes, chopped into small chunks
Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1 packet of mint leaves (chopped finely)
1 Lemon, juice only (freshly squeezed)

GF (& non-GM) Tortillas

Serve with dairy-free Raita (a mix of dairy-free yogurt, mint and cucumber)

How to:

  1. Crush the spices and salt in a pestle and mortar to your liking (I tend not to turn them into a powder as I like biting into them for the little pocket of flavour that released)
  2. Add the spices, oil and onion to a large frying pan and fry for 2 minutes on a medium heat.
  3. Add in the carrots and peppers and stir through. Continue to fry for 10 minutes on a medium heat.
  4. Add in the coconut milk, sprinkling of pepper, courgette and a sprinkling of the mint leaves and cook for a further 10 minutes.
  5. Check your vegetables are cooked (depending on size it may vary) and ensure the coconut milk has been absorbed but the stir-fry is still moist
  6. Serve with tortillas (cook as per instructions) and sprinkle each with some lemon juice and mint and yogurt.
  7. I usually spread the yogurt on the tortilla, place a couple of spoonfuls of the stir-fry on top. Sprinkle the lemon juice and mint leaves.
  8. Wrap the tortillas around the stir-fry, making little pocket parcels (like blankets) to hold everything in place. I do this by folding up one edge and then folding the sides around so as to enclose the stir-fry inside (except for the top). Works great for preventing spills from bottom (if you ensure every gap is closed).


Yum!
Hope you enjoy. Do you have a favourite vegan stir-fry and do you use tortillas or rice? Have a great exciting week.

So long for now, Feel to join in the chat below. Marian

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: All Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegan, Vegetarian

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

