Leaving the Vegan Kickstart

As anyone who was around last week knows I began a Vegan Kickstart challenge for 3 weeks.
I’m happy to report that all went really well during the first week, far better than I’d been expecting, doubting Thomas that I am. I stuck to it and if not the recipes listed then my own vegan recipes.

It highlighted a few weak spots in my diet.

  1. Firstly the snack time treats were all carb based.  Virtually every treat involved GF oat biscuits or spelt bread. So that’s been sorted.
  2. I had reduced my fruit intake unbeknownst to myself at snack times
  3. The nuts had gone to the salty variety without me even noticing, with no nicely spiced or toasted or agaved nuts and seeds making the cut.
  4. My new homemade quinoa and millet bircher is now a firm breakfast staple
  5. This week I’ve also noticed that I’ve found more websites that have the most fantastic recipes I’m dying to try. So am looking forward to trying these out over the coming days
  6. The main benefit I noticed was my body felt better and I felt more energised.  Now whether that was down to the diet or just getting back to the world after the Christmas hibernation I don’t know but whatever the cause I’m not complaining, would you?

Opting out of the Vegan Kickstart

Despite all the above I’ve decided not to continue with the programme for two main reasons.

  1. By definition the kickstart is a starter pack for those interested in finding out more and possibly moving to veganism or just wanting direction for a healthier diet. As I’ve been vegetarian / vegan over the last year now and have learnt most of it the hard way I’m wanting to continue at my own pace instead of reverting back to where I was a year ago. That being said as you can see from the list of benefits above it has highlighted little weaknesses that had fallen into my diet without me being aware of it and seems to have energised me a lot.  If I stick to keeping the weaknesses at bay for the rest of the year than I’ll consider this kickstart a complete success for me.  I thought if I got one or two recipes or a couple of useful tips from it I’d be content but I got more.
  2. The other reason is that it was taking up a bit more of my time than I planned. I’ve set a heavy schedule this year in my workplan and if I kept on the kickstart  I’d be delayed by the guts of a month.  When I realised that it was just too much to allow.

So all in all a worthwhile venture for me, but it’s better “get back to work” time now. I’m also looking forward to doing it again next year so I can do a spot-check on any little bad habits that may have kicked in during the year. Did you start the Vegan Kickstart by the way or are following some other New Year Healthy eating plan? How’s it going? Chat soon and I’d love to hear how you are getting on!  Marian

Tags: ,

Categories: All Recipes, Uncategorized

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

