Homemade Bircher

First recipe of the year and with the January detox going on all around it’s just as well it’s a healthy one.

I have been meaning to do this for ages, and what better place than on the Vegan Kickstart?  I attended a healthy eating course last year (seems to long ago now, but it was only in November) and the topic of breakfast cropped up. The speaker suggested Bircher which she explained was  just some cereal, nuts and fruit which could be soaked overnight in apple juice. So here’s what I came up with.

Serves 1

Ingredients:

1/4 cup organic millet flakes
1/4 cup organic quinoa flakes
1/8-1/4 teaspoon ground organic cinnamon
2 teaspoons organic vanilla extract
3/4 cup organic rice milk (but add more later if you like)
Sprinkling of milled organic mixed seeds
1/2 cup defrosted mixed berries (I used raspberries, red and black berries)
1 tablespoon Udos Oil
5 organic toasted almonds or toasted pecans, chopped roughly
Agave syrup to taste (I used 2 teaspoons)

Soak the flakes with the milk, cinnamon and vanilla extract for about 30 minutes.
Top off with the remaining ingredients.
Enjoy with a nice cup of your favourite brew! (in this case I had a lovely cup of freshly brewed coffee, Mmm!

Quick Note: (I used a mix of millet and quinoa as I don’t like them on their own and the mix seemed to work.) Also agave syrup is optional, I added it on in the second attempt and found the bircher with or without the syrup is nice.

I’ve had this twice now and really enjoyed it. I usually enjoy a bowl of homemade fruit & nut granola (from  my first book (dairy-free & spelt living) but the bircher is now a firm favourite as well.

Are you detoxing this month or just increasing your recipe collection, like me?  Have you an all time favourite breakfast that you mostly eat or just the quick cereal and rush out the door?

It’s mid-week for people back to work this week after Christmas holidays, so it’s nearly the weekend when you can sleep in again.  If I were you I’d have loads of treats to cheer myself up (it’s what I used to do anyhow, only way to cope)

Talk soon, Marian

Tags: , , ,

Categories: All Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegan, Vegetarian

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Homemade Bircher”

  1. February 15, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    Hi Marian, this sounds a lovely alternative to meusli especially soaking the flakes in apple juice overnight. A lovely natural sweetener. Thanks Sheelagh.

    • February 15, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

      Hi Sheelagh, thanks, I’m fond of it myself, keeps me fed all morning and you get the millet and quinoa as well. Marian

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Leaving the Vegan Kickstart | From Marian's Kitchen: Dairy-free & Spelt Living - January 9, 2012

    […] new homemade quinoa and millet bircher is now a firm breakfast […]

Leave a Reply

