Homemade Agave sweetened Cranberry, Apple & Cardamom Sauce

Agave sweetened Cranberry & Apple Sauce

Agave sweetened Cranberry & Apple s for

Cranberry Sauce

I decided a few weeks back to update my traditional cranberry sauce and to replace the sugar with one of the more natural sweeteners.  I tried xylitol, honey, maple syrup and combining them with agave and apple concentrate.  All the sauces had a tartness which I love but my ever watchful judge Tony pointed out it’d be just too much for anyone expecting the sweetness more commonly associated with cranberry sauce.

So on I experimented. Just in case you’re wondering how tart I like things, years ago one of my most enjoyable pastimes was eating lemons.

What about apple?

You’ll probably think this a bit weird but some of my best solutions come to me as I wake in the mornings.  So a week ago, waking up longing for a bowl of apple sauce the urge came to try it out  with the cranberry sauce.

I used sweet eating apples as they hold their shape during cooking and instead of using vanilla extract I put in Cardamom, purely because the fresh seeds have a delicious floral aroma which for me in any case is just addictive

Homemade Agave sweetened Cranberry, Apple & Cardamom Sauce hits the ground

Ingredients:

  • 1 sweet apple, cored, skinned and chopped into bitesized chunks
  • 1/4 cup water
  • Seeds from 12 cardamom pods, grinded in a pestle and mortar
  • 170g fresh cranberries
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
The Creative part!
  1. Place all the ingredients in a medium saucepan, giving them a quick stir to mix them around.
  2. Cook for 8-10 minutes on a low heat.
  3. Give a gentle stir a couple of times during cooking.
    You need to be careful not to over stir as the cranberries are very fragile and tend to mush up into pulp otherwise.  Keep a check but not stir like crazy as you would soup etc.
  4. Before removing from the heat ensure the apples are cooked. Remember to cut them into bite sized chunks so they cook the same time as the cranberries.
  5. This sauce can be used immediately but if left to go cold it will thicken up and the sauce even more syrupy.  You’re left with a delicious zingy, syrupy and chunky sauce.

Tips for using it

Very handy sauce with cold dishes, like leftover chicken and turkey.  I also find it delicious with my sweet spelt pancakes with dairy-free cream drizzled on top. If you’re thinking of using it instead of the usual ultra sweet cranberry sauce test it first as it is tart with a hint of sweetness and I know it won’t be to everyone’s taste.  I really just wanted a change from the sweet cranberry sauce I usually serve up. To me I always think I’m serving jam with the main dish – but maybe that’s just me?

If you don’t use it all straight away then store it in a sealed container in the fridge.

What about you?

Are you a stickler for the traditional sweet cranberry sauce or have you always made a tart variation as above.  Love to hear if you try it out and if you would prefer to stay with your sweet variation. That’s it for now.  Due to a very close family bereavement I’ll be busy for the rest of the week so may not get to post anything up. Anyway hope you all have a fantastic week and chat next week.  Roll on Halloween, one of my favourite times of the year.

Agave sweetened Cranberry & Apple sauce

Categories: All Recipes, Uncategorized

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

