Friday’s Fun Bits 7: Enjoying October Irish summer, Table Manners & Intolerances

The summer weather still reigns in Dublin, Ireland.  I had started getting my casseroles, soups etc ready for Winter (normal for Autumn, you’d think?) and thinking of Christmas and low and behold we finally get our Summer. Back to the summer clothes, open the windows fully, sipping homemade lemonade and lots of salads.

As I missed uploading Fun Bits No.7 due to internet problems here it is.  Below are some articles that caught my eye, either made me laugh, gave me insight or opened my eyes even more to intolerance, the more you know the more you can benefit others and grow yourself, am I right?

Rachel Ray’s Etiquette: Table Manners Etiquette
Do you use these or just do your own thing and surprise everyone?  As Tony, the wonderful hubby is mostly left-handed so with table layout for glasses, cutlery etc I have to do the opposite.   (I say that as he uses his right hand for a few things as well – like using a hammer). I enjoyed reading this as you just never know when you may need it.

Gluten-Free, Raw, Plant-Based and Macrobiotic Diets: What’s Right for You?
This covers different diets.  For myself I find that no one diet suits, I have to dip in an out of a few of them.  My main focus is no dairy products and no wheat, though spelt flour (a close relative of wheat is fine with me). I may in the end go totally vegan as I’m nearly there anyhow, but  for the moment due to anemia and not fully up to speed on the right nutrients to eat with non-meat ingredients I’m stuck with eating it. This doesn’t take away from a really informative read.  What do you think?

Allergy Detector If this ever gets commercial it’ll be just fantastic, wouldn’t it?

Lactose intolerance: What is it and how is it diagnosed?

Going Dairy-free
http://yellowfinchdesigns.blogspot.com/2011/08/living-dairy-free-life.html

I’m off to the Vegfest in Cork tomorrow and making hummus. What are you making for the weekend?

Let me know if you found the links above useful and what topics would interest you if not covered and I’ll go on the search.

Enjoy your weekend, I’m looking forward to eating Vegan Cupcakes tomorrow, Whohoo

Talk soon, Marian

Categories: All Recipes, Uncategorized

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

