Vegetable & Chilli Soup

I had a bad head cold last week with signs of it settling itself in for the long haul.  My usual hot lemon and paracetamol was useless.  Then I remembered Dale Pinnock’s “Medicinal Cookery: How you can benefit from nature’s edible pharmacy“. After a quick search I came across his Flu-fighting soup.

Now bearing in mind I was sick off I headed to the shops to get the ingredients. Low and behold when I returned home I had forgotten to buy the main ingredients and so had to make do with what was in the fridge. So although Dale Pinnock inspired me I only kinda only used 5 of his ingredients and then went off on a tangent and did my own thing which is typical.

This is deliciously warm and soothing and kept me fed while sick for two days.  It’s so easy I just kept making it.

Serves 2:

Ingredients:

1 large red onion, chopped
1 large sweet potato, chopped into chunks
1 large carrot, chopped into chunks
1 yellow pepper, sliced thinly
1-2 green chillies*, deseeded and chopped roughly
4 garlic cloves, minced
2-3 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon ground ginger
500 ml vegetable stock, (use a whole stock cube in the 500 ml water)
1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric
1 tablespoon light tahini
250ml light coconut milk (the one you use in your tea, e.g. Kara)
Season with salt and pepper to your taste

* try one chili first and if you’d like to add more heat next time add in the second chili.  I used two each time last week but I wanted it intense as the soup seemed to ease my throat a lot and kept me eating some food. 

The Work Bit!

Place all the vegetables into a large saucepan with the olive oil and fry for 5 minutes.
Keep stirring the vegetables around the saucepan to make sure they don’t stick to the bottom.

Add in the rest of the ingredients, except for the coconut milk, salt and pepper.
Bring to the boil, then simmer for 20 to 25 minutes.

Add in the coconut milk and liquidise to the consistency you prefer. I left it a bit chunky so there was both eating and drinking in it (as the only line goes).
Season to your taste.

I served this with the dairy-free soda bread from my first ebook, but any soda bread would work well.

Oh what fantastic weather, stuck in today though as busy finalising some other blog posts.

Hope you are enjoying the weather too! Must hop off to bake see you soon.  If you make this soup let me know how you get on.

It’s one of my staples for the winter, let me know if you’ll add it to your list of winter staples.

If you want to know the other tips I had to get rid of the cold just let me know.

Talk soon, enjoy your week.   Marian

Categories: All Recipes, Uncategorized

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Vegetable & Chilli Soup”

  1. October 20, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

Leave a Reply

