Handy Tip 1: Vanilla Xylitol

Although I am on a personal mission to reduce my cane and beet sugar to zero mainly to stop the energy drain with it. There are times when a dessert just could do with that texture or a friend drops by and they just want sugar.  Which leads me to Xylitol.  I’m on a bit of a trial and error stage with it at the moment.  I find it works well if you only want a light sweetness.  Still have to check out how it goes as a sugar replacement in cakes.

So the reason I’m writing this little tip.  I came across the Xylitol a few weeks back in my local health store – The Health Shop in Blackrock.

Not content with just using it as is  I put a vanilla pod in an airtight jar along with 500g of Xylitol.  After a couple of weeks a wonderful aroma of vanilla wafted through the air when I opened the jar.  The xylitol appears to have a strong aroma of the vanilla so delighted I now have a replacement for Vanilla Sugar.
On tests so far it seems to be working well and have just re-filled the jar with more Xylitol.

Ah sweet smell of success! I know the doesn’t take much to bring a smile but I am delighted to have found this.  Have you tried this before?  Do you have any other great store cupboard tricks that have helped you on a restricted diet to widen your pantry basics?

Categories: All Recipes

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Handy Tip 1: Vanilla Xylitol”

  1. October 3, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Reblogged this on Spelt for Choice: Marian's Kitchen Blog and commented:

    Under the weather with a chill last few days so missed first days of VegMoF. Here’s something to get started…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Xylitol sweetened Cherry & Cranberry Sauce | Spelt for Choice: Marian's Dairy Free & Egg Free Kitchen - November 20, 2012

    […] fresh cranberries 5 tbsp vanilla xylitol 4 tbsp water 1/4 teas ground cinnamon 95g […]

Leave a Reply

