Friday’s Fun Bits#5: A handy tip for over-ripe tomatoes


Hi, All

I  had planned a pizza for the Friday’s Fun Bits but I got waylaid yesterday so here is the tomato sauce I am using for it.  The pizza will come soon and I’m sure  if you make it you’ll get as much enjoyment as I did from making and enjoying it.  Here goes the tomato sauce. enjoy!

Pre-heat fan oven to 200 degrees

Tomato Sauce:
Ingredients:

1 Kg Tomatoes, halved
3 tablespoons of Olive Oil (not extra virgin)
1 teaspoon Sea Salt Flakes, divided
4 tablespoon Freshly Ground Black Pepper, divided
1 tablespoon Vegan Pesto
1/2 thumbnail of Fresh Ginger, cut into small bits
2 cloves of Garlic, sliced

When it’s finished you’ll have approximately 500g of tomato sauce.

The Work Bit:

Place the tomatoes in a baking tray and coat with the olive oil.

Sprinkle a half teaspoon of the salt and 2 tablespoons of ground pepper over the tomatoes.

Place in the pre-heated oven for an hour.  This time will vary depending on the size of the tomatoes used.  I had some small cherry tomatoes in at same time and they were nearly burned so should’ve taken them out earlier, but there are times I have had to keep tomatoes in the oven for up to 2 hours so keep an eye that they get to a consistency you’d like.  These were soft (or mushy as I like to call it) and glistening.

When ready remove the tray of baked tomatoes from the oven and leave to cool.

When cooled place the tomatoes into a liquidiser

Add the pesto, ginger, garlic and as much of the rest of the salt and pepper to your taste.  The above are the amounts I like, but adjust to your tastebuds, if you’d prefer.

Liquidise until smooth.

I use this as a base for my pizzas or on homemade burgers.

If not using straight away place in a container and store in a fridge for later use. The tomato sauce will last a few days. I don’t tend to use it after that as I prefer to have fresh tomato sauce so will do this and use it within a few days in various ways.

I find this an invaluable tool to use up over-ripe tomatoes.  Do you have a favourite recipe  for leftovers, would love to hear more on them.  Talk soon, Marian

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Friday’s Fun Bits#5: A handy tip for over-ripe tomatoes”

  1. June 27, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    Amazing article. I desire you up-to-date your blog significantly more often, I just cannot seem to be to acquire adequate of your blog. I preserved your blog in my bookmarks. Would it be feasible to do a guest post sometime?…
    My blog is home remedies for acne

    • June 30, 2011 at 7:31 am #

      Hi thanks for lovely comments. Yep I’ll be updating now on a more regular basis. It seems like an excuse but my computer had been giving me endless problems. Have got a great new one, don’t know myself so will after catching up this week, I’ll be back on track with very regular updates. Apologies, I know the importance to followers I’ll like seeing lots of updates on those I follow too. Looking forward to keeping in touch.

Leave a Reply

