Comforting Spicy Squash & Sweet Potato Soup

Hi, it’s been a while since I was doing much on the web but on the day before St Patrick’s Day I fell, banged my head on the kitchen (tiled) floor and lost consciousness.  I know excruciatingly painful and you would’ve played football with the lump on my head.  Stuck in hospital for a few days being tested like a lab rat I’m glad to say I’m back out, have been resting and appreciating good food all the more as a result.  The only good food that I got was when Tony arrived on St Patrick’s Day with a delicious salad and ham sandwich made with ‘Genius’ bread (wheat-free) which was scoffed off.  I’m getting an awful lot of slagging as now I’m left with a chip in my neck bone, “oh yeah Marian you just had to be different, anyone can get a chip on their shoulder” I’m just ignoring them, they’re only jealous – don’t think so.

On to my spicy squash and sweet potato soup which for me is a really comforting meal. It’s soothing, hot and tingles the taste buds. I also love the intense orange colour, I think the turmeric has a lot to be thanked for that.

Serves: 5-6

Ingredients:
1 butternut squash (400g approx when peeled and chopped)
2 sweet potatoes (300g when peeled and chopped)
1  finely sliced red onion
4 minced garlic cloves
1 litre  water
1 tin chopped tomatoes
1 teas ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon ground chilli powder
Juice of 1/2 Lemon
1 teas ground cardamom (optional)
1/4 teas ground turmeric
Freshly ground black pepper to taste

The work part:
Peel and chop the squash and sweet potatoes and onion.  Chop the onion and fry in about 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil for 2 minutes.  Keep stirring around and ensure it doesn’t burn, add in more oil if needs be to prevent this.  Then add in the squash and sweet potatoes and fry for another 3 minutes.  Again keep stirring often to ensure it doesn’t gets burned.

Add the rest of the ingredients and bring to the boil, simmer on a gentle boil for 20 minutes to half an hour until the vegetables are cooked through (a fork easily goes through them and yet they stay firm).

Let it cool down and then liquidise.  Pour back into the saucepan and heat up again. Add in oat milk or other milk to get to required consistency you like.  Check the taste and add in more lemon juice and / or pepper to suit you.

Eating and Enjoying:
Pour into bowls, sprinkle with ground pepper and toss a few brocoli sprouts on top.  Serve with delicious homemade freshly made white spelt yeast bread, spelt scones or  spelt brown bread – or other bread that you like.

When I’m making this for myself I usually store it in the fridge (saucepan and all) and spoon out as I need it into a different saucepan and heat up.  I usually add in more oat milk as it does ‘thicken’ slightly when left.

Love to hear how you get on,? Talk soon. Marian

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Busy Day Baking | From Marian's Kitchen: Dairy-free & Spelt Living - February 3, 2012

    […] the white yeast spelt bread from my book (Dairy-free & Spelt Living). This was enjoyed with the Comforting & Spicy Squash and Sweet Potato soup from the blog here. Later on I snuck in one of The Vegan Project’s Quinoa & Chickpea […]

Leave a Reply

