Moreish Choc Spelt Seedy Crispies

sweetened with agave and rice syups

Here is a simple twist on one of my old favourites, now sweetened with agave and rice syrups. I’ve also used peppermint extract so adults are devouring it.  The seeds have a lovely ‘crispie’ like bite to them.

Makes 12 (cupcake size)

Goodies you’ll need to have:

  1. 250g dark chocolate
  2. 2 tablespoons pumpkin seeds
  3. 2 tablespoons sunflower seeds
  4. 5 tablespoons agave syrup (85g approx)
  5. 1 tablespoon rice syrup
  6. 1.5 -2 teaspoons peppermint extract (or to taste)
  7. 230g spelt flakes and spelt puffs (half of each) or puffed rice
  8. Decorations of your choice (e.g. some extra seeds, dairy free / wheat smarties – I used a pack of whizzers which I found in a local health shop)

Putting it all together:

  • Half fill a saucepan with water and bring to the boil.  Once boiled turn heat off.
  • Break the chocolate into pieces and place into a bowl over the saucepan of just boiled water. Add the syrups and seeds and wait for chocolate to melt, stirring gently every now and then.
  • Add remaining ingredients and ensure they are fully coated.
  • Put 12 cupcake cases into a muffin tin.
  • Divide the chocolate mix equally into the cases.
  • Top off with decorations of your choice (or seeds and wheat-free / dairy free smarties).
  • If you want them to harden quickly place in the fridge for up to two hours, though the lovely sheen will be lost.  I mostly leave them in cool area in kitchen and hidden (or they’ll be ate by your devoted partner (in my case Tony)

Tip: I’m sure a mix of toasted nuts and some dried fruits would be nice in it also – do you use them?.  I sometimes add in marshmallows and the texture of the latter is loved.  Hope you like this quick and easy treat, love to hear how you get on. Talk soon.

Marian

Categories: All Recipes, Dairy-Free, Desserts & Snacks, Egg Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Author:speltforchoiceblog

Home cook, Irish food blogger and live a plant-based lifestyle. I also co-own of www.herbicarni.com with my hubs where you'll find online courses, vegan chocolates and lots more to help a transition to a plant-based diet or live with someone who is a carnivore.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Moreish Choc Spelt Seedy Crispies”

  1. June 11, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    Reblogged this on Spelt for Choice: Marian's Kitchen Blog and commented:

    An oldlie but still delicious!

  2. June 12, 2012 at 11:43 am #

    Would you believe I was just making rice krispie buns earlier today – just to have something sweet in the biscuit tin, and I was thinking now how could I make these more interesting..and up this pops..perfect!

    • June 12, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

      Great, yep I made them the other day myself and we thoroughly enjoyed them! Let me know what you think, I hope you want to scoff them off!

Leave a Reply

